District 210 Elects New Board Leadership

Arvid Johnson of Frankfort was named the school board's president.

Because all four incumbents on the District 210 high school board were re-elected last month, Monday night's reorganizational meeting didn't require much swapping of seats.

The re-seating was easy when all members were already seated, including board members James Gast, Christine Glatz, Kevin Molloy and Stephen White, all of whom were re-elected to the Lincoln-Way High School District 210 Board of Education.

After the re-elected members were sworn in, the board appointed new leadership at the meeting. Arvid Johnson of Frankfort was elected president of the board, succeeding David Izzo, of Tinley Park.

Chris Kosel, of New Lenox, was elected as the board's vice president, leaving his seat as secretary open for Molloy, of Manhattan. Following the April 5 election, Molloy said he was happy the incumbents—who ran together as a "Proven Leadership" slate—were all brought back on the board.

"To me, the most important part of this is we laid the groundwork over the last couple years to keep our heads above water with the curveballs thrown at us," Molloy said, referencing state budget issues. "Bringing a new member up to speed could have been one step forward, two steps back."


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »